The O’Connell River basin covers 2, 387 km2 and encompasses the O’Connell and Andromache Rivers in the north and St Helens and Murray Creeks to the south. These waterways discharge into Repulse Bay and the Seaforth Coast receiving waters. A distinctive feature of this basin is the number of protected areas it includes; seven National Parks and 13 Conservation parks and State forests are captured in the basin, including Cape Hillsborough National Park and Cathu State Forest.

This map journal produced by the Queensland Government and a range of regional stakeholders provides a wealth of information on the O’Connell catchment.